Pandemic Reflections – Easter

This Easter marked our second pandemic Easter. It seems hard to believe that my parents were last here for an Easter two years ago. My uncle was still alive then, and we had started a routine of my parents coming on Easter day, dropping in for dinner with my aunt uncle, and then staying to care for Levi during the school break week that follows. I remember all of that being canceled last Easter, of course. I remember hoping my uncle would still be with us for another Easter. But for the life of me I could not remember what we ate, or who fed us! Typically we eat at Dawn’s mom’s for Easter. Ham with gravy and all the fixings. While I’m a decent everyday cook (we almost never eat out), I’m not so good at the holiday cooking. Turns out, though, that I did cook for us. I made a vegetarian shepherd’s pie and that ridiculously delicious (and oh-so-bad-for-you) Smith Island Cake.

Last year Levi got a terrarium kit from the Easter bunny and this year he got Aqua Dragons (aka Sea Monkeys). Both were little projects that captured his imagination and for which he got very excited.

This year we did another masked outdoor visit with Dawn’s mom, but she did make her traditional Easter dinner and packed it up into giant to go containers for us. For this I am so grateful. This year was also a bit less chilly for our outdoor visit. Something else to be thankful for.

It’s still a bit hard to wrap my head around the idea that we’ve been living this careful, tense lifestyle for over a year, and that while there might be/seems to be/is hopefully an end in sight, we aren’t there yet.

Leave a comment